Skip to main content

Wyoming Probate Cost: $160 to Open, a Value Fee, and Two Statutory Fee Schedules

Settled Estate lists court filing fees and timelines for 5 Wyoming probate procedures. The cheapest published route starts at $160 for open a probate. Last verified September 2026.

Wyoming sets every court fee by statute, so all 23 counties charge the same. The court fees are small; the statutory fees for the personal representative and the attorney are where the money goes.

Opening a Wyoming estate costs $160 at the clerk of district court. W.S. 2-2-401 builds it from three lines: the $110 original filing fee under (a)(i), a $40 court automation fee under (a)(iii) and a $10 indigent civil legal services fee under (a)(iv), each add-on charged "in addition to the original filing fee". Quoting $110 as the Wyoming probate fee understates the bill. The Wyoming Supreme Court's Rules for Fees and Costs for District Courts (Rule 6) send probate fees to that statute, and no county sets its own.

A second court fee moves with the estate. When the inventory or appraisement is filed showing an estate of $5,000 or more, the clerk charges $5 for $5,000 to $10,000 and $5 for each additional $10,000 of value or portion of it (W.S. 2-2-401(a)(ii)). That is $75 on a $150,000 inventory and $150 on $300,000, so total court fees run $235 and $310.

The larger cost is professional fees, and Wyoming sets both by statute. The court allows the personal representative ordinary fees of 10% of the first $1,000, 5% of the amount over $1,000 up to $5,000, 3% over $5,000 up to $20,000 and 2% of everything over $20,000 (W.S. 2-7-803), and the attorney for the estate a separate fee on the same schedule (W.S. 2-7-804). On a $300,000 estate each is $6,350. The small estate affidavit avoids all of this: it carries no court fee, because it is filed with the county clerk rather than the court.

Quick Summary

Open a probate
$160Same in all 23 counties (W.S. 2-2-401(a)(i), (iii) and (iv))
Inventory value fee
$5 per $10,000From $5,000 of value up, when the inventory is filed (W.S. 2-2-401(a)(ii))
Small estate affidavit court fee
$0Filed with the county clerk; estate of $400,000 or less, net of liens (W.S. 2-1-201)
Personal representative and attorney fees
10% / 5% / 3% / 2%Each a separate statutory schedule (W.S. 2-7-803 and 2-7-804)

There is no cheaper Wyoming county. W.S. 2-2-401 sets every probate fee the clerk of district court collects, the clerk only remits the money to the county treasurer (W.S. 2-2-402), and counties impose no local probate tax. County clerk recording charges are also statewide under W.S. 18-3-402. The genuinely local costs are the newspaper that prints the required notices and the number of pages a county clerk records.

Typical Total Cost Ranges

Estimate your county’s exact fees
Small estate affidavit: $60,000 of accounts and a paid-off car, no land
$0 in court fees. About $12 to record the first page with the county clerk, $5 per certified copy, death certificates at $25 for the first and $20 each after, and a 30-day wait
Decree of summary distribution: a $250,000 Wyoming house in a $400,000 or smaller estate
A district court fee the statute does not state, two weeks of newspaper notice, and $12 for the first page to record the decree
Probate with administration, $150,000 inventory
$235 in court fees ($160 to open plus a $75 inventory fee), plus the newspaper notice, any bond premium and death certificates
Probate with administration, $300,000 inventory
$310 in court fees, plus up to $6,350 to the personal representative and $6,350 to the attorney as ordinary fees, unless one person serves as both

Probate Cost by Procedure

Swipe sideways to see the full table.

ProcedureEstate SizeCourt FeeTimelineAttorney?Best For
Probate With AdministrationAny estate. Over $400,000 net in Wyoming, or any estate that needs a personal representative$160 to open ($110 under W.S. 2-2-401(a)(i), $40 court automation fee, $10 indigent civil legal services fee), plus $5 per $10,000 of value (or portion) when the inventory is filedCommonly 4 to 12 months; to be completed within one year of appointment unless the court approves a continuanceNo statutory requirementA larger estate, a disputed will, or debts to cut off through the published notice
Probate of Will Without AdministrationAny estate where no personal representative is neededSet by W.S. 2-6-122(b) as the minimum fee for a W.S. 2-6-203 proceeding; no dollar figure is stated, so ask the clerkCommonly 3 to 5 months, including three weeks of publication and the three-month contest windowNo statutory requirementA will that should be proved without appointing an executor
Filing a Will Without ProbateAny estate$0. "No filing fee shall be charged" (W.S. 2-6-121(b))On filingNoLodging the will with the clerk of district court when nothing needs to pass by it
Small Estate AffidavitEstate located in Wyoming, net of liens and encumbrances, of $400,000 or less (W.S. 2-1-201)$0 court fee. County clerk recording $12 first page, $3 each additional page, $5 per certified copyUsable 30 days after the deathNoAccounts, vehicles and belongings in an estate of $400,000 or less
Decree of Summary DistributionThe same $400,000 ceiling; the route for Wyoming real property and mineral interests (W.S. 2-1-205)Not stated in W.S. 2-1-205 or the court fee rules; ask the clerk. Recording the decree is $12 for the first pageCommonly 2 to 3 months after filing, which can start 30 days after the deathNo statutory requirementA Wyoming house, land or mineral interest in a small estate

Additional Costs to Expect

Opening a Wyoming Estate

Paid to the clerk of district court for probate matters filed or commenced: the $110 original filing fee under W.S. 2-2-401(a)(i), a $40 court automation fee under (a)(iii) and a $10 indigent civil legal services fee under (a)(iv). The original fee covers the clerk's general filing activity and the certification of one copy of each order, decree or judgment at filing for each party (2-2-401(b)). Do not use the civil fee statute, W.S. 5-3-206, for probate; its own $160 already includes the $40 and $10.

$160 in every county

Inventory Value Fee

Due when an inventory or appraisement is filed showing an estate valued at $5,000 or more (W.S. 2-2-401(a)(ii)). An $8,000 estate pays $5, a $100,000 estate $50, a $300,000 estate $150 and a $1,000,000 estate $500. The personal representative files the sworn inventory within 120 days of appointment (W.S. 2-7-403).

$5 for $5,000 to $10,000, then $5 per additional $10,000 or portion; nothing under $5,000

Personal Representative Fees

The court shall allow the personal representative ordinary fees computed on the probate estate accounted for, unless waived in writing (W.S. 2-7-803(a)). The basis includes items at inventory value adjusted for gain or loss on sale, accretions such as interest and dividends, and the net income of a business run during administration (2-7-803(c)). The court may allow more for unusual circumstances or for extraordinary services such as tax matters and litigation (2-7-803(a) and (b)). No fee is paid without a court order on a verified application, and only one ordinary fee is allowed per estate, shared among co-representatives (W.S. 2-7-805).

10% of the first $1,000, 5% to $5,000, 3% to $20,000, 2% above; $6,350 on $300,000

Attorney Fees for the Estate

The court shall allow the attorney for the estate ordinary fees on the same basis and schedule (W.S. 2-7-804(a) and (c)), plus just and reasonable fees for extraordinary services such as tax matters and litigation (2-7-804(b)). The personal representative and the attorney may agree to lower fees (2-7-804(d)). The two schedules are separate allowances, so a $300,000 estate can carry up to $12,700 in ordinary fees, unless one person serves as both personal representative and attorney, in which case no ordinary personal representative fee is allowed (2-7-805(c)).

The same 10% / 5% / 3% / 2% schedule; $6,350 on $300,000

Certified Death Certificates

Issued by the Wyoming Department of Health. W.S. 35-1-428 lets the department set the fee by rule and adds surcharges, and the department's 2026 application form prints the totals it charges. Wyoming is a closed-record state: copies go to immediate family, their lawyer, or a bank, executor, insurer or other person who needs the certificate to collect a benefit.

$25 for the first copy; $20 for each additional copy in the same request

Recording With the County Clerk

W.S. 18-3-402(a)(xvi)(A) sets one charge for recording any instrument, which covers the small estate affidavit, a summary distribution decree, an affidavit of survivorship and a transfer on death deed. Extra charges apply for more than five grantors or grantees of different surnames, more than ten land descriptions and more than two book-and-page descriptions, and fees are paid in advance (18-3-402(b)). The court's small-estate instructions estimate the affidavit's recording as usually around $30.

$12 for the first page, $3 for each additional page; $5 per certification

Court Copies and Certificates

Copies beyond the one certified copy included in the filing fee follow W.S. 5-3-206: $0.50 for each certificate and seal ((a)(v)) and $1.00 for a one-page copy plus $0.50 for each additional page ((a)(vi)). Exemplification is $5.00 under Rule 7 of the court fee rules, and the clerk charges $1.00 per page to send a document by fax or email (Rule 4).

$1 for a one-page copy, $0.50 each additional page; $0.50 per certificate and seal; $5 exemplification

Publishing the Notice of Probate and to Creditors

After letters issue the personal representative must publish the notice once a week for three consecutive weeks in a daily or weekly newspaper of general circulation in the county (W.S. 2-7-201). The newspaper sets the charge and no statute fixes it. A decree of summary distribution needs two weeks of published notice instead (W.S. 2-1-205), and probate of a will without administration needs three (W.S. 2-6-122).

Set by the newspaper; required

The Personal Representative's Bond

Every person issued letters must give a bond first, with two or more individual sureties or one corporate surety, in an amount not less than the value of the personal property plus the probable annual rents and profits of the real property (W.S. 2-3-102). No bond is required when the will or a statute says so or when the distributees waive it in writing, though the court may still require one (W.S. 2-3-111).

Set by the surety; required unless waived

Appraisal

Within 120 days after filing the inventory the personal representative files a report of appraisal. Assets with a readily determinable market value are valued in writing by one disinterested person, and others by disinterested appraisers. The appraiser's fee is within the personal representative's discretion, subject to reasonableness and approval at the hearing on the final report (W.S. 2-7-404).

Set by the appraiser, subject to court review

Vehicle Title

The county clerk issues a new certificate of title for $15 (W.S. 31-3-102(a)(vii)) when a vehicle passes to a surviving joint owner, a transfer-on-death beneficiary, a distributee under the small estate affidavit, or through probate.

$15 per certificate of title

Taxes

W.S. 39-19-103 still imposes a tax on the Wyoming gross estate measured by the federal state death tax credit, but that credit, 26 U.S.C. § 2011, was repealed in 2014, so the Wyoming tax computes to zero. Wyoming has no inheritance tax and no probate tax; the inventory fee is a court fee, not a tax. A federal estate tax return may still be due for a large estate.

No Wyoming estate, inheritance or probate tax bill

One more cost source to check: if the person who died received Medicaid long-term care benefits, the state may file a recovery claim against the estate. The Wyoming Medicaid estate recovery guide explains when that applies.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does probate cost in Wyoming?
$160 in court fees to open an estate in any Wyoming county, plus an inventory fee of $5 per $10,000 of value: $235 in total court fees for a $150,000 estate and $310 for $300,000. On top of that, the personal representative and the attorney are each allowed an ordinary fee on the statutory schedule ($6,350 each on $300,000), and the estate pays for the newspaper notice, any bond premium, death certificates at $25 for the first copy and county recording.
Why is the Wyoming probate fee $160 when the statute says $110?
Because $110 is one of three lines. W.S. 2-2-401(a)(i) sets the $110 original filing fee, and (a)(iii) and (a)(iv) add a $40 court automation fee and a $10 indigent civil legal services fee, each "in addition to the original filing fee". The clerk of district court collects all three when the estate is opened.
Does the Wyoming probate fee depend on the size of the estate?
Partly. The $160 opening fee is flat, but W.S. 2-2-401(a)(ii) adds a value-based fee when the inventory is filed: $5 for an estate of $5,000 to $10,000, then $5 for each additional $10,000 or portion of it. A $1,000,000 inventory adds $500. What changes most with size is the route: an estate located in Wyoming worth $400,000 or less, net of liens, may use the small estate affidavit for no court fee.
What does a Wyoming executor get paid?
A statutory schedule. The court shall allow ordinary fees computed on the probate estate accounted for: 10% of the first $1,000, 5% of the amount over $1,000 up to $5,000, 3% over $5,000 up to $20,000 and 2% above $20,000 (W.S. 2-7-803). That is $750 plus 2% of everything over $20,000, so $6,350 on a $300,000 estate. The personal representative can waive part or all of it in writing, and the court can allow more for unusual circumstances or extraordinary services.
Does Wyoming set attorney fees for probate?
Yes. W.S. 2-7-804 gives the attorney for the estate a separate ordinary fee on the same 10% / 5% / 3% / 2% schedule as the personal representative, plus just and reasonable fees for extraordinary services such as tax matters and litigation. The personal representative and the attorney may agree to a lower fee (2-7-804(d)). Neither fee is paid without a court order (W.S. 2-7-805).
Is publishing a notice to creditors required in Wyoming?
Yes. The personal representative must publish the notice of probate and to creditors once a week for three consecutive weeks in a newspaper in the county (W.S. 2-7-201), and the newspaper sets the charge. Creditors then have three months from the first publication to file claims with the clerk of district court.

Estimate your Wyoming probate path

Answer a few questions to see which probate process may apply before you budget for it.

Take the 2-minute assessment

Weighing a full-service company against an attorney or handling it yourself? Compare what estate settlement companies do and charge.

Source Notes
Statute / Authority
W.S. 2-2-401 (probate fees), W.S. 2-2-402 (remittance to the county treasurer), W.S. 2-2-403 (fees not otherwise set), W.S. 2-2-404 (court commissioner fees), W.S. 2-7-803, 2-7-804 and 2-7-805 (personal representative and attorney fees and their allowance), W.S. 2-6-121 and 2-6-122 (wills filed or proved without administration), W.S. 2-1-201 and 2-1-205 (small-estate routes), W.S. 2-7-201 (notice of probate and to creditors), W.S. 2-7-703 (claims), W.S. 2-3-102 and 2-3-111 (bond), W.S. 2-7-404 (appraisal), W.S. 5-3-206(a)(v) and (vi) (copies and certificates), W.S. 18-3-402(a)(xvi) (county clerk recording fees), W.S. 31-3-102(a)(vii) (vehicle title fee), W.S. 35-1-428 (death certificate fees), and W.S. 39-19-103 (estate tax measured by the repealed federal credit).
Fee Source
Court fees are read from W.S. 2-2-401 in the official Wyoming Statutes Title 2 PDF (created May 8, 2026) and the Wyoming Supreme Court's Rules for Fees and Costs for District Courts (Rule 6 for probate fees, Rule 3 for copies, Rule 4 for fax or email, Rule 7 for exemplification), both read September 28, 2026. The amendment history was read in the enrolled acts: 2019 HB0125 raised the original filing fee from $50 to $110, 2020 HB0193 raised the automation fee to $40, and 2010 HB0061 added the $10 legal services fee. No Wyoming clerk of district court publishes a probate fee sheet, so the statute is the schedule. Death certificate totals are from the Wyoming Department of Health 2026 application form.
Last Verified
September 2026
Threshold Effective Date
No Wyoming probate fee is indexed or keyed to the date of death. The fees move only by act of the Legislature, which meets every year, and most acts take effect July 1. The one figure that changed recently is the small-estate ceiling, which rose from $200,000 to $400,000 on July 1, 2025 (Laws 2025, ch. 168, SF0104).
Notes
Three costs are left unpriced rather than estimated. The court fee for a petition to probate a will without administration is set by W.S. 2-6-122(b) as "equal to the minimum fee applicable to proceedings under W.S. 2-6-203" with no dollar figure, and neither W.S. 2-1-205 nor the court fee rules state the fee for an application for a decree of summary distribution, so ask the clerk of district court for both. Newspaper charges for the required notices are set by the paper. The arithmetic of the inventory fee follows the statute's words ($5 for each additional $10,000 of value or portion of it); the statute does not say whether the inventory value is gross or net, and no clerk fee sheet exists to confirm how a clerk applies it.
SourcesOfficial references used for this page

Information current as of September 2026

Settled Estate is not a law firm, and this content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Probate laws and procedures in Wyoming can change. Consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation. Full disclaimer.