Skip to main content

Idaho Probate Cost: One Flat $166 Court Fee in All 44 Counties

Settled Estate lists court filing fees and timelines for 7 Idaho probate procedures. The cheapest published route starts at $166 for open formal or informal probate. Last verified September 2026.

Idaho prices probate with a single statewide court fee that does not move with the size of the estate. The trap is the statute: it prints several dollar amounts, and only the schedule's total is what the clerk collects.

Opening a formal or informal Idaho probate costs $166. That is the total on the Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure Appendix A fee schedule (effective July 12, 2024) for a petition for formal probate or an application for informal probate in the magistrate division, and it is built from four statutes: $120 under Idaho Code § 31-3201A(1), $26 under § 1-2003(1), $10 under § 73-213, and the $10 civil-case administrative surcharge in § 31-3201(3). The smaller amounts written inside § 31-3201A(1), such as $23 and $80, are how the $120 is split among state and county funds, not extra fees. Quoting $120 or $156 as the Idaho probate filing fee understates the bill.

The fee is the same whatever the estate is worth. Idaho has no probate tax, no value-based fee, and no estate, inheritance or gift tax, so an $80,000 estate and a $3,000,000 estate pay the same $166 to open. Summary administration of small estates is $130 on the same schedule, and the small estate affidavit under § 15-3-1201 costs nothing in court fees because it is never filed.

Idaho sets no percentage for the personal representative or the estate attorney. Idaho Code § 15-3-719 entitles the personal representative to reasonable compensation, and § 15-3-721 lets the court review the reasonableness of that compensation and of anyone the estate employs, including an attorney, and order a refund of anything excessive. No dollar figure is estimated here for either role.

Quick Summary

Open formal or informal probate
$166Flat in all 44 counties (Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure, Appendix A)
Summary administration of small estates
$130Appendix A, category D
Small estate affidavit
$0Never filed. Estate of $100,000 or less, net of liens (Idaho Code § 15-3-1201)
Executor and attorney fees
No scheduleReasonable compensation, reviewable by the court (Idaho Code §§ 15-3-719 and 15-3-721)

There is no cheaper Idaho county. The court fee schedule is statewide, every county hears probate in the district court's magistrate division, and Idaho counties impose no local probate tax or local probate filing fee. Recording fees at the county recorder are also set statewide by Idaho Code § 31-3205. The one genuinely local cost is the newspaper that prints a notice to creditors, if the personal representative chooses to publish.

Typical Total Cost Ranges

Estimate your county’s exact fees
Small estate affidavit: $40,000 of accounts and a paid-off car, no land
$0 in court fees. Budget for a notary and certified death certificates at $16 each, and wait thirty days after the death
Informal probate, $250,000 estate with a house
$166 to open, plus $15 to record the deed, death certificates at $16 each, and any newspaper notice to creditors
Informal probate, $150,000 estate, no real property, with a petition for distribution and an accounting
$166 to open, $25 for the petition for distribution and $9 for the accounting, about $200 in court fees before publication and professional fees
Summary administration of a small estate
$130 in court fees, plus death certificates. Still needs an appointed personal representative and an inventory
Surviving spouse inherits everything
$130 to $166 for the § 15-3-1205 petition, depending on which fee row the clerk applies, and no administration afterwards
Formal probate with a will contest
$166 to open, plus $136 for each other party who appears. The larger costs are attorney fees, which Idaho does not schedule

Probate Cost by Procedure

Swipe sideways to see the full table.

ProcedureEstate SizeCourt FeeTimelineAttorney?Best For
Informal Probate and AppointmentAny estate. The fee does not depend on value$166 ($120 under Idaho Code § 31-3201A(1), $26 under § 1-2003(1), $10 under § 73-213, $10 surcharge under § 31-3201(3))Commonly 7 to 12 months; closing no earlier than six months after appointmentNo statutory requirementAn uncontested estate that needs letters, or one with real estate to pass
Formal Testacy and AppointmentAny estate$166, the same as informal probateCommonly 9 to 18 months for a contested or court-supervised matterNo statutory requirement, and rare without oneA disputed will, uncertain heirs, or a family that wants a court order
Summary Administration of Small EstatesNo dollar figure. The estate, less liens, must not exceed the homestead allowance, exempt property, administration costs, funeral expenses and last-illness medical bills (Idaho Code § 15-3-1203)$130 (Appendix A, category D)Commonly 3 to 6 months; still needs an appointment and an inventoryNo statutory requirementAn estate the allowances, funeral and last-illness bills would use up
Surviving Spouse as Sole BeneficiaryAny value. The surviving spouse must be the sole devisee or heir (Idaho Code § 15-3-1205)$130 to $166. The schedule does not say which row applies; confirm with the clerkCommonly 1 to 3 months, driven by notice and the hearing dateNo statutory requirementA spouse who inherits everything and accepts liability for the debts
Small Estate AffidavitEntire probate estate, wherever located, net of liens and encumbrances, of $100,000 or less (Idaho Code § 15-3-1201)$0. It is presented to the holder of the property and never filedUsable thirty days after the deathNoAccounts, wages, vehicles and belongings, with no land to pass
Later Filings in an Open EstateAny estate already open$25 petition for distribution (Idaho Code § 31-3201A(6)); $9 accounting (§ 31-3201A(5)); $9 demand for notice; $14 petition to approve a compromise; $27 to file a foreign personal representative's appointmentOn filingNoAn administration that needs a further petition or files an account
First Appearance by Someone Other Than the PetitionerAny estate$136 (Appendix A, category I.1); the $100 in Idaho Code § 31-3201A(4) is the statutory base onlyOn filingNo statutory requirementAn objector or other party joining an open case

Additional Costs to Expect

Opening an Idaho Estate

The $166 is the Appendix A total for a petition for formal probate or an application for informal probate in the magistrate division, the same in every county. Summary administration of small estates is $130: Idaho Code §§ 1-2003(1) and 73-213 each exempt the summary administration procedure for small estates from their fees, which matches the $26 and $10 columns being empty on that row, though the schedule does not name its statutes column by column.

$166 for formal or informal probate; $130 for summary administration

Executor Compensation, Which Idaho Does Not Schedule

Idaho Code § 15-3-719 entitles a personal representative to reasonable compensation for services. If the will provides for compensation and there is no contract with the decedent about it, the personal representative may renounce the provision before qualifying and take reasonable compensation instead, and may renounce all or part of the compensation by a written renunciation filed with the court. Under § 15-3-721 the court may review the reasonableness of the compensation the personal representative set for his or her own services and order a refund of anything excessive.

Reasonable compensation, reviewable by the court, with no Idaho percentage

Attorney Fees, Under the Same Review

Idaho fixes no attorney-fee percentage for probate. After notice to all interested persons, on petition of an interested person, or on motion in supervised administration, the court may review the propriety of employing any person, including an attorney, auditor or investment advisor, and the reasonableness of that person's compensation (Idaho Code § 15-3-721). A personal representative who defends or prosecutes a proceeding in good faith, successful or not, is entitled to necessary expenses and disbursements, including reasonable attorney's fees, from the estate (§ 15-3-720). Ask for a written fee agreement.

No Idaho percentage, and no dollar figure estimated here

Certified Death Certificates

IDAPA 16.02.08.251.01 sets $16 per certified copy of a death certificate, including the $1 coroner training and education fund fee under Idaho Code § 39-252(2). A search with no record found also costs $16. Section 39-252(1) still prints $13.00 but delegates later fee changes to board rule, so $16 is the current figure. Copies come from the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare.

$16.00 per certified copy; $10.00 more per certificate for priority processing

Recording With the County Recorder

Idaho Code § 31-3205(1)(b) sets flat recording fees for an instrument of 30 pages or less, plus $3 for each page beyond 30: $15 for a deed or other transfer of title to real property, $45 for a trust deed or mortgage, $15 for a reconveyance or release, and $25 for a power of attorney. Any other instrument is $10 for the first page and $3 for each additional page. The county clerk is the recorder in every Idaho county.

$15 to record a deed of 30 pages or less

Certified Court Copies

Idaho Code § 31-3201(1) sets the clerk's fees at $1.00 per page for a copy and an additional $1.00 for the certificate and seal, so a one-page certified copy of letters is $2.00. Section 31-3201A(13) lets the Idaho Supreme Court set other fees by rule or order, so confirm with the clerk.

$1.00 per page, plus $1.00 to certify

Publishing a Notice to Creditors

Under Idaho Code § 15-3-801 the personal representative may publish a notice to creditors once a week for three successive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the county. Publishing starts a four-month claim bar; skipping it leaves pre-death claims open for up to three years after the death under § 15-3-803. Section 60-105(2) sets rates for official notices required by law to be published, and because this notice is optional, whether that rate binds it is not stated. No total is estimated here.

Varies with the length of the notice, and optional

The Personal Representative's Bond

Bond is not required in informal proceedings except for a special administrator, where the will expressly requires it, or on a written demand by a person with an interest over $1,000 or a creditor with a claim over $1,000 (Idaho Code §§ 15-3-603 and 15-3-605). A domestic bank or trust company never needs bond. A demand for bond costs nothing to file before a personal representative is appointed and $9 after.

Set by the surety, and often not required

The Small Estate Affidavit

Idaho Code § 15-3-1201 works without a court, so no filing fee attaches. The successor presents the affidavit to whoever holds the property after the thirty-day wait. Expect a notary fee for signing it. If the estate includes land, the affidavit cannot transfer it, so budget for a probate or another court route for the land even when the total is under $100,000.

$0 in court fees

Guardianship and Conservatorship, a Separate Case

A guardianship or conservatorship is a different case from the estate. Idaho Code § 31-3201G(1) adds $50 to open one, $41 for each conservator report and $25 for each guardian report, on top of the ordinary filing fees; Appendix A totals the opening at $216, and $262 for a joint guardianship and conservatorship with different petitioners.

$216 to open

Taxes

The Idaho State Tax Commission says Idaho has no gift tax or inheritance tax, and its estate tax for deaths expired in 2004. Idaho counties impose no local probate tax. The estate may still owe Idaho fiduciary income tax on its own income.

No Idaho estate, inheritance, gift or probate tax

One more cost source to check: if the person who died received Medicaid long-term care benefits, the state may file a recovery claim against the estate. The Idaho Medicaid estate recovery guide explains when that applies.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does probate cost in Idaho?
$166 in court fees to open a formal or informal probate in any Idaho county, the total on the Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure Appendix A fee schedule. Summary administration of small estates is $130, and the small estate affidavit costs nothing in court fees. On top of the filing fee, budget for certified death certificates at $16 each, $25 for a petition for distribution and $9 for an accounting if the estate files them, $15 to record a deed if land changes hands, any newspaper notice to creditors, any bond premium, and professional fees.
Why is the Idaho probate fee $166 when the statute says $120?
Because $120 is only one of four pieces. Idaho Code § 31-3201A(1) charges $120 for a civil case assigned to the magistrate division, § 1-2003(1) adds $26 for cases involving the administration of decedents' estates, § 73-213 adds $10, and § 31-3201(3) adds a $10 administrative surcharge on each civil case. The court's fee schedule prints the $166 total. The other amounts written inside § 31-3201A(1) are how the $120 is shared among funds, not extra charges.
Does the Idaho probate fee depend on the size of the estate?
No. Idaho has no value-based probate fee and no probate tax. A small estate and a multimillion-dollar estate both pay $166 to open. What changes with size is the route: an estate of $100,000 or less, net of liens, may be able to use the free small estate affidavit for its personal property.
What does an Idaho executor get paid?
Reasonable compensation, with no percentage in the statute. Idaho Code § 15-3-719 entitles the personal representative to reasonable compensation for services, and Idaho publishes no percentage schedule. A will can set the fee, but the personal representative may renounce that provision before qualifying and take reasonable compensation instead. The court may review the amount on petition under § 15-3-721 and order a refund of anything excessive.
Does Idaho set attorney fees for probate?
No. Idaho fixes no attorney-fee percentage. The court may review the propriety of employing an attorney and the reasonableness of the attorney's compensation under Idaho Code § 15-3-721, on petition of an interested person or on motion in supervised administration. Fees are agreed with the lawyer and then subject to that review, so ask for a written fee agreement.
Is publishing a notice to creditors required in Idaho?
No, it is optional, and the cost depends on the newspaper and the length of the notice. Idaho Code § 15-3-801 lets the personal representative publish once a week for three successive weeks, which gives creditors four months from first publication to present claims. Without it, pre-death claims can be presented for up to three years after the death under § 15-3-803.

Estimate your Idaho probate path

Answer a few questions to see which probate process may apply before you budget for it.

Take the 2-minute assessment

Weighing a full-service company against an attorney or handling it yourself? Compare what estate settlement companies do and charge.

Source Notes
Statute / Authority
Idaho Code § 31-3201A (court fees), § 1-2003 (additional fees in civil actions), § 73-213 (tax levy on actions), § 31-3201 (clerk of district court fees and the administrative surcharge), § 31-3205 (recorder fees), § 60-105 (rates for official notices), § 15-3-719 (compensation of personal representative), § 15-3-720 (expenses in estate litigation), § 15-3-721 (review of compensation), § 15-3-801 (notice to creditors), §§ 15-3-603 and 15-3-605 (bond), § 15-3-1201 (small estate affidavit), § 15-3-1203 (summary administrative procedure), § 31-3201G (guardianship and conservatorship fees), § 39-252 and IDAPA 16.02.08.251 (death certificate fees).
Fee Source
Court totals are copied from the Idaho Rules of Civil Procedure Appendix A, Filing Fee Schedule, District Court and Magistrate Division (effective July 12, 2024), and reconciled against the four fee statutes read at the Idaho Legislature on September 24, 2026. The statutes were last amended in 2023 (§§ 31-3201A and 1-2003), 2022 (§ 31-3201) and 1992 (§ 73-213), all before the schedule's date, so no later act moves a figure. The death certificate fee is from IDAPA 16.02.08.251 and the Department of Health and Welfare request form revised 06/2025. Recording fees are from Idaho Code § 31-3205.
Last Verified
September 2026
Threshold Effective Date
No Idaho court fee is indexed or keyed to the date of death, so an estate pays the schedule in force when it files. The schedule carries its own effective date, July 12, 2024. Idaho republishes its code each July 1 after the legislative session, so the fee statutes and the schedule are due for a re-read after the July 2027 compilation.
Notes
Four costs are left unpriced rather than estimated. The newspaper charge for an optional notice to creditors depends on the length of the notice; Idaho Code § 60-105(2) sets rates for official notices required by law to be published, and because a § 15-3-801 notice is optional, whether that rate binds it is not stated. The bond premium is set by the surety. Notary fees vary. And attorney and personal representative compensation carries no Idaho percentage at all. One open question is flagged rather than guessed: the fee schedule does not say whether its $130 summary administration row also covers the § 15-3-1205 surviving-spouse petition, so that route is shown as $130 to $166.
SourcesOfficial references used for this page

Information current as of September 2026

Settled Estate is not a law firm, and this content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Probate laws and procedures in Idaho can change. Consult with a qualified attorney for advice specific to your situation. Full disclaimer.